Additional Penetration Loss

Tagged: 

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Alberto Alvarez
    Participant

Hi everyone,

I’m quite new to this simulator. I’m trying to add some penetration losses for simulating an indoor environment using LTE_config.additional_penetration_loss. However, I’m getting higher average throughput when I introduce additional losses. If I set LTE_config.additional_penetration_loss to ‘indoor’, I get more throughput than with ‘outdoor’, and even more throughput when I set it to ‘deep indoor’. I don’t get it. Am I missing something?

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

Alberto Alvarez

Dear Alberto,

That all depends on the scenario you are simulating. Setting a user to be indoors, can isolate this user from interference, while the serving base station might be close to the user, so having higher throughput sounds reasonable. However, I will need to know more details about which scenario are you simulating, to give a more detailed answer.

Best regards,
    Fjolla

Alberto Alvarez
    Participant

Thank you very much for your answer Fjolla.

What you say sounds reasonable. However, when having the additional losses set to ‘deep indoor’ (-23dB) I get around 13Mbps average UE throughout. Even though interference is kind of neglected, it seems a little bit high taking into account I have high penetration loss, isn’t it?.

My scenario is a 2×2 MIMO closed-loop spatial multiplexing (tx mode 4), TU channel model, 20MHz BW in a hexagonal grid.

In the end, what I’m trying to simulate is a transmission between an eNB and a UE which is inside a building with very thick walls and a few interference eNBs nearby.

Regards,

Alberto Alvarez

Dear Alberto,

The throughput results will also depend on the number of users in the cell that share resources, not only on the penetration losses that directly have an impact on the SINR values.