Simulation with femtocells without involvement of macrocell

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Haseeb Qureshi
    Participant

Hi Team

I am new to this simulator.

Please guide me to create an environment in which users should only communicate with femto cells without the involvement of macro cells. My aim is to create a self optimising environment of femtocells. I can create an environment with macrocells only and macrocells working with femtocells, but unable to achieve a network with femtocells only. Is there any way I can turn off macrocell? Please also tell me how femtocell is connected to macrocell in this simulator? Is it via cable?

Plus also guide how can I control the positioning of femtocells and UEs?

Waiting for four help and guidance.

Thanks in advance.

Kind Regards
    Haseeb

Dear Haseeb,

The scenario that is defined in the file “LTE_sim_main_launcher_femtocells.m” considers a fixed amount of femto cells per macro cell. Using this as a reference, you can eliminate the macro cells from your simulation by including the following lines in your scenario file:

LTE_config.antenna.antenna_gain_pattern = ‘omnidirectional’; % creates a single macro BS (instead of three sector BSs)
    LTE_config.nr_eNodeB_rings = 0; % creates only one BS-site in the center
    LTE_config.eNodeB_tx_power = 0; % transmit power in Watt – will set the cell size of the macro BS to 0

With the line

LTE_config.femtocells_config.femtos_per_cell = 20;

you can then directly control the absolute number of femtos that will be placed in your scenario (in this case 20). By default, the placement option

LTE_config.femtocells_config.spatial_distribution = ‘constant femtos per cell’;

is chosen, which places the femtos randomly within your cell (in this case in the whole region of interest).

Then setting

LTE_config.UE_per_eNodeB = [0 2]; % First number refers to ‘macro’, second to ‘femto’ ,i.e. [Nr_of_UEs_per_Macro Nr_of_UEs_per_Femto]